Fixed Gear Crit

NL Crit Series Deventer: Tanja Erath out-sprints men B peloton while Jacobs sprints to victory in A race

Next to the Thundercrit in London another fixed gear crit took place, the NL Crit Series, Deventer. It was a sunny day, but the wind in combination with two hairpins made it a pretty hard parcours.

Text & Photography: Merlijn Spenkelink

In the men’s B/women’s race the pace was high from the start, with Óscar Torres Fernández grabbing the prime just in front of Nick Verhoeven. After a couple of rounds there was a group of 11 in the lead, still containing Tanja Erath! Despite a solo attempt by Merlijn Spenkelink this group stayed together for a long time, mainly due to the heavy headwinds. With just 5 laps to go, Óscar Torres Fernández managed to create a gap together with Max Schelenz and Coen Klooster. Óscar also took the win, with Max coming in second and Coen third. Tanja Erath won the women’s race by out-sprinting all the men in the small peloton!
The A race had a small but strong field of competitors. David van Eerd, who got fifth at the RHC Brooklyn, was back at it again and took both the first and the second prime! The wind was getting weaker, which meant more escapes! Pauwel Datema and Rick Nobel of Sir Pete x Treshombres were some of the guys trying their luck for an escape, but nobody got so far. With just a couple of laps to go Bram Linnartz and Jan Hoffmann crashed, this was also a sign for the peloton to ease down a bit, and prepare for the sprint. When the group came out of the last corner it was Thomas Jacobs in front, and he kept that place, outsprinting them all and grabbing his first ever win in the NL Crit Series! David van Eerd grabbed a solid second place, while Kaj Verhaegh, the GC leader, grabbed a third place and his first ever podium!

Women’s Podium
1. Tanja Erath
2. Lisa Worner
3. Eva Seibold

Men’s B Podium
1. Oscar Torres Fernandez
2. Max Schelenz
3. Coen Klooster

Men’s A Podium

1. Thomas Jacobs
2. David van Eerd
3. Kaj Verhaegh