Fixed Gear Crit

National Moutarde Crit 5 won by Ceresa and Saraiva

World-class riders from Europe and even North-America made their way to Dijon, France for the 5th edition of the National Moutarde Crit (NMC 5). This edition was in no way the same to NMC 4 as the circuit and the qualification system were totally different. The circuit, with 2 ‘normal’ hairpins and another 2 extremely narrow hairpins, which together formed a super technical ‘S’ turn, suited the technical and explosive riders. This was already proven in the Time Trial as Tim Ceresa, who is probably one of the most explosive riders in the fixed gear scene, won the TT by 2 seconds over his closest competitor.
Photography: Milan Exbrayat (first 6 photos) & Steve Where’s Tom (last 6 photos)
Header Image: Milan Exbrayat Photography

After the TT and heats, the riders were qualified for their final which was either the Super Final (50 best riders), the A Final, or the B Final. The women only did a TT to determine the grid as all women automatically qualified for the final. In the Women’s final, Eleonore Saraiva, the current Red Hook Criterium GC leader, won after a long and impressive solo breakaway. Margaux Vigie, who made her NCM debut, won the sprint for 2nd place before NMC 3 winner Ashley Faye who complemented the podium.

In the Super Final a minor crash in the second hairpin meant that 12 riders could separate them from the rest of the field leaving all other riders to ride for 13th place and up. In the front group a true battle between 5 teams: Team Schindelhauer-Gates / Aventon Factory Team / 8bar team / FAST Amsterdam / and Team Wit started. However, it was clear that 8Bar had the strongest duo for this circuit, RHC Barcelona 5 winner David van Eerd and his team mate Tim Ceresa. In the last lap it was David van Eerd who did the lead out for Tim Ceresa who brilliantly finished David’s work. Aventon rider Olivier Leroy managed to sprint to 2nd place while David remained a good position rewarding himself with the last spot on the podium.

Podium Super Final
1. Tim Ceresa – 8bar team
2. Olivier Leroy – Aventon Factory Team
3. David Van Eerd – 8bar team

Women’s Final
1. Eleonore Saraiva – Aventon Factory Team
2. Margaux Vigie – Santafixie BLB Team
3. Ashley Faye – LA Sweat

Final A
1. Rayan Younsi – Equipe 2-4
2. Mathieu Castro Placeres – Disorderly Habits Team
3. Damien Michalec – La Chance

Final B
1. Louis Bondoux – Team Régional de l’Etape
2. Romain Dauby – Glory Owl Cycling
3. Pom Randria – La Nuit Noire