Fixed Gear Crit

Another victory for both Leroy & Erath in NL Crit Series

Two weeks ago it were Olivier Leroy and Tanja Erath who won the opening of the NL Crit Series. Today, they proved to be the strongest of the field again by also taking the victory in the second race in the NL Crit series, Zwanenburg. In the Men’s B category it was Bjoern Holzapfel taking the win in very windy circumstances. Click here for full results.

Header Image: Merlijn Spenkelink
Text & Photos: Brian Megens/Merlijn Spenkelink

Photo by Merlijn Spenkelink

It wasn’t only the winner in the men’s race that was similar, also the rider that attacked the most was the same, Brian Megens. He broke away from the peloton several times ending in several solo’s and one time in a two-man break-away with Luc Ducrot who, together with David van Eerd, also did quite a few attempts to shake up the peloton. However, too many riders in the peloton were confident that they could beat Oliver Leroy in a bunch sprint. This resulted in all attacks being neutralised and everything being back together with 2 laps to go. In the last lap a near crash avoided the sprinter of team WIT, Cornelius Kersten to showcase his fast legs. Unsurprisingly, it was Olivier Leroy sprinting comfortably to the victory with David van Eerd taking 2nd place again, and Bram Linnartz settling for 3rd this time.

Photo by Merlijn Spenkelink
Brian Megens away from the peloton Photo by Merlijn Spenkelink
Bram Linnartz leading the chase Photo by Merlijn Spenkelink
Luc Ducrot shaking up the peloton Photo by Merlijn Spenkelink
Olivier Leroy sprinting comfortably to the win Photo by Merlijn Spenkelink
The Podium photo by Brian Megens

The woman’s/men’s B race at the NL Crit Series was a nervous one. Right after Mark den Bakker took the prima lap in front of Terence Driessen in a sprint a deux, there was a big crash. Five people went down, causing a red flag and the race to stop for 15 minutes.  After the race continued there was another small crash, but everyone was lucky enough to leave without serious injuries. After some failed solo attempts from Renwil Molina and Oscar Torres Fernandez it was Bjoern Holzapfel who took the win, in front of Oscar Torres Fernandez and Terence Driessen.

The Podium Men’s B Race Photo by Brian Megens

In the woman’s race there were two very strong ladies; Tanja Erath and Eleonore Saraiva. They managed to stay in the front of the peloton the whole race, and even outsprinted most guys; coming in the overal top 5 of the race. Tanja took the win, Eleonore got second. Nathalie Simoens came in third after she unluckily got caught in both crashes.

Podium Women’s race photo by Brian Megens
Photo by Merlijn Spenkelink